Official Airline of the NALEO 9th Biennial National Institute for Newly Elected Officials

Home > Programs > Institute for Newly Elected Officials


9th Biennial NALEO National Institute

for Newly Elected Officials

9th Biennial NALEO National Institute for Newly Elected Officials
November 15-18, 2012
Washington, D.C.

Kellogg Conference Center at Gallaudet University
Washington, D.C.


The NALEO National Institute for Newly Elected Officials is a training seminar held every two years in November following the general election - now considered a "boot camp" among newly elected officials.

The three-and-a-half day “boot camp” offers a comprehensive introduction to public service, with seminars addressing budgeting, staffing, policymaking, and other key governance issues. Participants at the 9th Biennial NALEO National Institute for Newly Elected Officials joined experts and other elected officials from all levels of government for this unique, non-partisan skills development and training program in the nation’s capital. Attendees included U.S. Rep. Elect Tony Cardenas (D CA-29)—the first Latino U.S. Rep. from Southern Calif.’s San Fernando Valley area - and U.S. Rep. Elect Michelle Lujan Grisham (D NM-1)—the first Latina to represent her state in the U.S. House of Representatives.

The NALEO Educational Fund provides selected applicants with transportation to and from Washington, DC, as well as room and board, while at the Institute.

Click here to view Agenda & Schedule of Events (PDF)


Guadalupe C. Contreras, State Representative, Avondale
Juan Carlos “J.C.” Escamilla, State Representative, San Luis
Lydia Hernandez, State Representative, Phoenix
Daniel Hernandez, Jr., Board Member, Sunnyside Unified School District
Jonathan R. Larkin, State Representative, Glendale
Juan J. Mendez, State Representative, Tempe
Maria C. Ramos, Councilmember, City of San Luis
Matias Rosales, Councilmember, City of San Luis

Ivan Altamirano, Councilmember, City of Commerce
Violeta Alvarez, Mayor Pro Tem, City of Bell
Miguel A. Canales, Councilmember, City of Artesia
Karina Cervantez, Councilmember, City of Watsonville
Francisco J. Estrada, Board Member, Monterey County Board of Education
Briseida Gonzalez, Board Member, Lynwood Unified School District
Jack M. Guerrero, Councilmember, City of Cudahy
Frank C. Guzman, Board Member, Pomona Unified School District
Belia Martinez, Board Member, Livermore Valley Joint Unified School District
Victoria R. Martinez, Councilmember, City of El Monte
Nilo Michelin, Councilmember, City of Hawthorne
Jorge C. Morales, Councilmember, City of South Gate
Jesse Ortiz, Board Member, Yolo County Board of Education
Andres Quintero, Board Member, Alum Rock Union Elementary School District
Alfred Renteria, Jr., Board Member, El Rancho Unified School District
Denise M. Robles, Councilmember, City of Commerce
Vicky Santana, Board Vice President, Rio Hondo Community College
Magdalena M. Zepeda, Councilmember, City of Coachella

Augustine R. Esquibel, Board Member, Centennial R-1 School District
Leroy M. Garcia, State Representative, Pueblo
Dominick A. Moreno, State Representative, City of Commerce City
Deborah Ortega, Councilmember, City and County of Denver
Joseph A. Salazar, State Representative, Thornton
Jessie M. Ulibarri, State Senator, Denver

Raul De Jesús, Jr., Councilmember, City of Hartford
Luz Osuba, Board Member, Windham Public Schools

Yvonne Y. Capin, Councilmember, City of Tampa
David Santiago, State Representative, Deltona
Victor M. Torres, Jr., State Representative, Orlando
George E. Vallejo, Mayor, City of North Miami Beach


Zach W. Adamson, Councilmember, City of Indianapolis/Marion County
Claudia O. Fuentes, Treasurer, City of Indianapolis/Marion County

Anthony Soto, Councilmember, City of Holyoke

Lupe Ramos-Montigny, Board Member, Michigan State Board of Education
Magdalena S. Rivera, Secretary, Holland Public School District

Melisa Lopez Franzen, State Senator, Edina

New Mexico
Mark S. Armijo, Board Member, Central New Mexico Community College
Andrew T. Gonzales, Councilmember, Town of Taos
Analee N. Maestas, Board Vice President, Albuquerque Public Schools
Christopher Rivera, Councilor, City of Santa Fe
Carl P. Trujillo, State Representative, Santa Fe
Don Francisco R. Trujillo, II, Board Member, Santa Fe Public Schools

New York

Bruno A. Cubas, Board Member, Uniondale School District
Vilma I. Lancaster, Board Vice President, Freeport Union School District
Gabriela Rosa, State Assemblymember, New York City
Nily D. Rozic, State Assemblymember, Fresh Meadows

Jessica Vega Pederson, State Representative, Portland

J.P. Miranda, State Representative, Philadelphia

Philip A. Cortez, State Representative, San Antonio
Mary E. Gonzalez, State Representative, Clint
Cris Medina, Councilmember, City of San Antonio
Poncho Nevárez, State Representative, Eagle Pass
Marisa B. Perez, Board Member, Texas State Board of Education
Justin Rodriguez, State Representative, San Antonio

Alfonso H. Lopez, State Delegate, Arlington

• The Latino Vote • School Board Members (NELI) • Press Releases • Our Chairman's Welcome
• CA Redistricting Commission • State and Local Officials • NALEO in the NEWS • Board of Directors
• Comprehensive Immigration Reform • Newly Elected Officials • Multimedia • Upcoming Events / Calendar
• Education Leadership (NELI)   • Gallery • Newsletter
Latino Health Policy (NCHLP) SERVICES • Press Kit • Regional Offices
  • U.S. Citizenship Assistance   • Employment Opportunities
PUBLICATIONS • Register to Vote NALEO MEMBERSHIP • Staff Directory
• Reports • Census Form Assistance • Join / Renew • Contact Us
• Census 2010 - State Profiles   • NALEO President's Welcome  
• Directory of Latino Elected Officials   • NALEO Board of Directors  


  • NALEO At-A-Glance  

© National Association of Latino Elected and Appointed Officials (NALEO) Educational Fund