NALEO National Policy Institute on Infrastructure - NALEO Educational Fund

NALEO Policy Institute on Infrastructure


September 12-13, 2014 | Dallas, TX


Title Sponsors

Investor Sponsor
Durham School Services


7:30 a.m.

Institute Registration

8:00 a.m. – 9:00 a.m.

Breakfast, Welcome Remarks & Program Overview

9:15 a.m. – 10:15 a.m.

Session I:

The State of Our Nation's Infrastructure

Session Chair: Hon. Alex Padilla, California State Senator; Chair, Energy, Utilities, and Communications Committee; NALEO President

• Mr. Charles V. "Casey" Dinges IV, Senior Managing Director, Public Affairs, Membership and Marketing, American Society of Civil Engineers

10:15 a.m. – 11:45 a.m.

Session II:

Building for the Future: A Look at Best Practices

Session Chair: Hon. Annette Quijano, New Jersey State Assemblymember; Chair, Homeland Security and State Preparedness Committee

• Mr. Robert Kolasky, Senior Advisor to the Assistant Secretary for Infrastructure Protection, U.S. Department of Homeland Security

• Mr. D. Wayne Klotz, President, Klotz Association; Board Member, Institute for Sustainable Infrastructure

• Mr. Gary C. Thomas, President/Executive Director, Dallas Area Rapid Transit

12:00 p.m. – 1:00 p.m.


An Update on the Highway and Transportation Funding Act of 2014

1:15 p.m. – 2:45 p.m.

Session III:

Transportation Infrastructure (Roads, Highways, Bridges)

Session Chair: Hon. Armando Martinez, Texas State Representative; Vice Chair, Transportation Committee

• Dr. Tim Lomax, Senior Research Engineer and Regents Fellow, Texas A&M Transportation Institute, Texas A&M University System

• Mr. Jim Reed, Group Director. Environment, Energy &. Transportation, National Conference of State Legislatures

• Mr. Michael Morris, Director of Transportation, North Central Texas Council of Governments

Session IV:

Energy Infrastructure

Session Chair: Hon. David Alvarez, Councilmember, City of San Diego, California

• Mr. William F. Hederman, Jr., Deputy Director for Systems Integration and Senior Advisor to the Secretary, U.S. Department of Energy

4:15 p.m.

Adjourn for the Day

4:30 p.m. – 6:00 p.m.

Opening Reception

Opening Reception Patron
Marathon Oil

Opening Reception Supporters
Advance America
Southwest Airlines
8:00 a.m. – 9:00 a.m.

Registration & Breakfast

9:15 a.m. – 10:30 a.m.

Session V:

Water Infrastructure

Session Chair: Hon. Marisa Márquez, Texas State Representative; Joint Committee on Water Desalination

• Mr. Charles F. Anderson, Former President, American Water Works Association

• Mr. Tom Gooch, Vice President, Freese and Nichols

• Ms. Kathleen Jackson, Board Member, Texas Water Development Board

10:30 a.m. – 12:00 p.m.

Session VI:

Telecommunications Infrastructure

Session Chair: Hon. Xavier Campos, Councilmember, City of San Jose, California

• Ms. Karen Hanson, Telecommunications Policy Analyst/Federal Program Officer, National Telecommunications and Information Administration, U.S. Department of Commerce

• Ms. Staci Pies, Senior Public Policy and Government Relations Counsel, Google

• Ms. Jill A. Jordan, Assistant City Manager, City of Dallas, Texas

12:00 p.m. – 1:00 p.m.

Networking Luncheon

1:35 p.m. – 3:15 p.m.

Session VII:

Infrastructure Financing of the Future: Public Private Partnerships

Session Chair: Hon. Luz Weinberg; Commissioner, City of Aventura, Florida; Board Member, Miami-Dade Expressway Authority; NALEO Vice President

• Mr. John Parkinson, Executive Director, Association for the Improvement of American Infrastructure (AIAI)

• Mr. George Burgess, Chief Operating Officer, Becker & Poliakoff

3:30 p.m. – 4:00 p.m.

Closing Remarks, Wrap Up & Evaluation

Additional Resources:
BB Loan Program Brochure
Community Connect Factsheet
DLT Factsheet
FTA NOFA on TOD Planning Pilot Program NTIA Broadband Adoption Toolkit NTIA Federal Funding Tips WI - Community Area Networks Guide WI - Broadband Reference Guide